That online presence

Can you believe that I’ve been blogging for over 2.5 years? Crazy! Who would’ve thought?!

When I first decided to blog, there were a few people (including my mom!) who thought making my life public on the internet could be risky…

Agreed! While for the most part, being a part of the online community is extremely positive and beneficial, it can sometimes be dangerous.

Fortunately, a lot of troubles can be avoided if you simply…

These are my personal rules:

  • Scam – If it sounds too good to be true, it’s too good to be true. And never give away your personal details online – simple!
  • Harassment – I’m sure you’ve all heard of certain YouTubers being harassed so badly, it has ruined their lives. While I do feel sorry for them, it’s often because they decided to do or say something really stupid without thinking of the consequences.
  • Invasion of privacy – If you don’t want people knowing about certain personal details – then don’t ever post them publicly.
  • Stalker/theft – Don’t let the things you post identify and make you a target of crime. Don’t flash your wads of cash, don’t show off your colletions of pricey items, don’t post videos of ‘house/neighbourhood tours’, etc.
  • Future-biting-in-the-ass – Don’t post anything you know you will come back to haunt you!

While I have followed these rules from the day I started blogging. I cannot say it has been easy, especially the future-biting-in-the-ass rule – that one is always hard.

I know… everybody’s different. Even though I thoroughly enjoy many people’s honest-without-restraint blogs/vlogs – I always find myself needing to hold back. Before every post, I always ask myself, is this appropriate according to my standards? Especially as someone pursuing medicine, I now think, “Would I be happy if a future colleague or patient came across this?”

Yesterday, I read a post on our class group page on Facebook. It has since been taken down, but I’ve paraphrased it below. The bolded words are those he actually used:

To the guy on the stairs shitting himself before the ethics exam, I have your cheapie (insert brand) sunglasses. I was thinking of just keeping them for myself but I figured I should at least let you fight me for them.

Additionally, there was no “haha” or “lol” to imply that he was joking or being sarcastic. To me, rude and disrespectful. I actually thought, “What an asshole!” And unfortunately, if I ever meet him in the future… this will be the first thing that comes to mind. I could be uptight, but I do think that’s a lack of professionalism. We shouldn’t be calling out fellow colleagues (or anyone and in a public forum no less) for worrying about exams or owning cheap stuff in that way – or even at all. A simple, “To the guy studying on the stairs before ethics exam, I have your sunglasses. We can meet up” would’ve sufficed!

Perhaps he deleted the post himself after realizing how he came across or perhaps an admin thought it was inappropriate and deleted it for him. Either way…

Unfortunately, there is no undo button on the internet. You can get rid of it, but chances are it’s been copied, people have seen it and people have talked about it.

It’s all been said before, but you never know who will be seeing what you post online – family, friends, (future) employers, clients, etc. It can be hard to control reactions and actions in real-time, in real-person, but not online! Take advantage of that!

My online presence plays a big role in my life and fortunately, I’m satisfied with it. 😀

What are your thoughts?

One thought on “That online presence

Please share your thoughts! :)

