Delicious and healthy artichoke tea

We went grocery shopping the other day and I saw these enormous artichokes. It brought back memories of when my mom and grandma would make pots of artichoke tea and keep jugs of it in the fridge. A distinct flavoured, light and refreshing tea, great served cold.

For $2, I had to buy one and try making it myself. Result? Success!

I cut the artichoke into 4 and boiled it in 1.5L of water for about 25 minutes. Added about 1 tbsp of sugar just to enhance the sweetness of the artichoke. I used white sugar, but I’m sure raw or cane sugar would’ve been great! Once cooled, I strained the tea and stored it in the fridge.

I was curious to see if anyone else drank artichoke tea so did a little research – how surprising! It’s actually quite popular and potentially has health benefits. Research has shown some compounds in artichoke can reduce the body’s synthesis of cholesterol and reduce excess blood cholesterol. Now… isn’t that interesting!

Please share your thoughts! :)

