Nov 8: Last exam = Halfway through medical school!

At around 11:30am on November 8th – we all completed our final exam of the year: Ethics and Professional Practice.

We’re now half doctors!

If we passed all our exams that is! Haha, we’ll find out soon enough 😉

A few happy things occurred that day:

1) I wrote my last exam – duh! It was only an hour long but the exam itself was lengthy and most people were scribbling until the very end.

2) I promised friends and family that if they helped me raise $100 for Movember by Nov 8th, I would wear a moustache to my final exam. And those wonderful people made sure it happened! It was quite embarrassing up until the point I stepped out the door. Then it became fierce proudness. Look at me world! I’m proud to support a great cause!

Yes, of course I got looks as soon as I left the house, but most people knew what it was for and gave me friendly smiles. Some people burst out laughing – which I thoroughly enjoyed. I didn’t have time to go buy a fake ‘stache so I drew one on with eyeshadow and eyeliner, praying that it wouldn’t melt off my face by the time I made it to campus.


(Josiah and I)

And, feel proud because I didn’t wash it off until after we had taken our class picture! Christine was also the only other person who wore a ‘stache with me – props to her! 😉

[If you would like to donate to me (and my team, UQ Med), please visit http://mosista.co/sandranguy]

3) We took a new class photo. Thanks again to Zac R for organizing it for us and being the phtoographer!

4) We could finally reeeelax! Had a super chill evening at Fi’s place with the gang and then headed into the city for the Oschner send off party. Most of our American students go back to the states and complete 3rd and 4th year in New Orleans. Additionally, many of them are preparing to write their USMLE so it was a last opportunity to see them and wish them luck 🙂

A few photos from the send off party at Birdees. Photo credit again goes to Zac R.

Yay! Done 2nd year!

Please share your thoughts! :)

