Home: Comforts and responsibilities

Like many people say, home is where the heart is. But after being away this year, I felt a little estranged walking in. I guess it’s simply because certain things changed and I wasn’t around to witness the process. Even little things like a replaced mat, a new appliance and small cracks in the old paint are taking me by surprise. I’m actually spending time staring at them!

I’ve also almost forgotten how much busier you can be when living in a family household, especially as the older sibling/eldest child. Someone can always use a hand, something here or there can always be done, and there is so much catching up to do when you’ve been away for so long!

I’ve come back right in the middle of home renovations, which are always such a joy! (Note: Sarcasm) Completing renovations is always very satisfying, but the potential long journey to that point is often tiring and can really test your patience. However, there are still good aspects of undertaking such projects, such as hanging out with family and using my non-existant muscles – which are already feeling the burn. We’ve barely made a dent in anything so I can’t wait to see how happy my body will be by the time we’re done. (Note: Very serious, no sarcasm meant. I really need move my butt)

The current state of our study. Hopefully the next time you see it, there will be no messes!

Besides family (and friends whom I have no time for yet) and the bed, there are many other comforts of home I often take for granted, primarily FOOD.

Things like, Cinnamon Toast Crunch cereal… the taste you can see!

Vietnamese dishes I would never make myself like warm Soy Bean Pudding with ginger syrup, perfect for the cold weather!

Additionally, I’ve forgotten how many delights a fridge stocked by my mom can contain! πŸ˜›

My sister still has her claim on my old bed. She’s joined both our twins to make a massive… king sized? So she’s stuck with me in ‘her bed’ along with her life-sized teddy. I sometimes worry he might come to life and kill me in my sleep.

She’s also bought a new pet – a 5 month old yellow bellied slider turtle, which she named Franklin. Very original name, I know πŸ˜› As you might see, his shell looks pretty unhealthy. Franklin’s previous owner didn’t take the best of care (provided no proper heat/UV-B lamp… the poor turtle) so my sister is making sure he’s getting a lot of love.

I’m also still debating on whether or not I will write the USMLE Step 1 and if so, when I will be writing it. In the meantime, I’m still going to study over the break. Pocket medicine was the only physical book I brought back with me, but everything is on my iPad, so should be fine! I’ve decided to begin studying by going over Pathoma lectures, starting with Chapter 1 today. We’ll see how that goes before I plan anything further! πŸ˜›

And while you’re here, I wanted to share with my year book profile – written by Roger and Christine with a few things added by Michael and Yoni (yes, we were supposed to get our friends to write one for us). After reading the profiles of many other classmates, I’m quite thankful my friends are nice and don’t have a cruel sense of humour! πŸ˜‰

4 thoughts on “Home: Comforts and responsibilities

Please share your thoughts! :)

