MIS: Coming to an End

After an amazing 6 weeks at Prince Charles Hospital learning so much about Geriatric Medicine, my Medicine in Society rotation is coming to an end.

You would not believe how worried and anxious I was to begin working in the hospital this year. The thought of constantly feeling stupid and not knowing enough was enough to get my heart racing. Luckily I was proven wrong. Every staff member I have met at The Prince Charles Hospital has been welcoming and kind. Not only have they taught me so much, but they trusted me and provided innumerable opportunities to apply and broaden my knowledge and skills – I couldn’t have asked for a better experience!

Here’s a review of what happened:

I spent my first 2 weeks in the Fractured Neck of Femur  (#NOF) Service (01/21 to 02/01). All patients in this ward had broken their hip and required surgery and rehabilitation.

Then I moved on to the Geriatric Evaluation and Management (GEM) Unit for 2 weeks (02/04 to 02/15). These patients can have any sort of health problem, and were in GEM for further rehabilitation or waiting for home services to be set up before going home.

Fifth week I spent in the Cognitive Assessment and Management (CAM) Unit (02/18 to 02/22). This ward is more long-term and all patients have some kind of dementia. CAM was an especially unique and enjoyable experience. I got to know all the patients on a personal level and it was admiring to see how the staff take care and handle patients when they are being difficult.

During my last week (02/18 to 02/22), I spent a few days with the Geriatric Referral and Liason Service (GRLS) and some days back in the CAM Unit. The GRLS team takes referrals from all different wards of the hospital to see if patients would be appropriate for transfer to the GEM unit or elsewhere. GRLS was especially beneficial because I was able to learn how referrals work and got to become more familiar with other wards in the hospital.

We now have this week off to study for our exam on Thursday! And also have to finish up our health projects. For mine, I’ve created a medical information brochure for the Fractured NOF Service. I’ve received patient/family feedback and it’s now in the final stages of editing before being submitted to the forms committee.

Overall, I’ve extremely enjoyed my Geriatric Medicine rotation. I have had so many encounters with patients, their families, and health professionals that have taught me more than any textbook could. Thank you TPCH for a wonderful experience! 🙂

Please share your thoughts! :)

