GP: Way of Teaching

I’m happy to say I have a great preceptor at the clinic where I’m doing my GP Rotation. A teacher with lots of patience who provides many opportunities for learning and always answers my questions, no matter how many I ask.

He also goes by the motto of, “See one. Do one. Teach one.”

That means, for any procedure he feels comfortable allowing a 3rd year med student to perform, I am expected to watch him do it once, during which he talks me through the entire process, giving pointers where appropriate. The next case that comes in, I’m expected to be able to do it myself. Talk about my heart beating faster!

The next Implanon (contraceptive implant just under the skin) removal, punch biospy (sampling a suspicious skin lesion), sebaceous cyst popping (pretty excited for this one), etc – I get to do!

It is amazing how much medicine you don’t learn from textbooks but from a teacher and experience!

One thought on “GP: Way of Teaching

Please share your thoughts! :)

