The end of third year medical school!

Yes yes, that day has finally come!

Yesterday marked the end of my third year in medical school, woo hoo! I had two clinical exams for my final rotation (Medicine), both of which I left with mixed feelings…

The first exam was a long case – 1 hour with a patient during which we must get a full history and do a full examination. Followed by 20 minutes with two examiners where we present our case and get grilled with lots of questions. My patient’s presenting complaint was post-fall following possible syncope, with digoxin toxicity on a background of atrial fibrillation as well as chronic kidney disease, hypertension, and reflux disease.

The second exam was a short case – a focused examination completed within 8-10 minutes, also followed by a brief summary/presentation to the examiners and being questioned. Our short case was a cardiovascular examination on a patient who presented with shortness of breath. We later mostly agreed on the significant findings of murmurs and other signs of biventricular heart failure.

Hopefully I passed! But it’s so easy to look back and think, “I could’ve said this” or “I should’ve asked that.” Only time will tell now, our marks should be released in a few weeks!

Finished up packing this morning. Just need to pick up a couple last things but so ready to hop on a plane back home! Hopefully Mike and I can hit the beach tomorrow for some last minute relaxation (and tanning ;)) before heading back to Canada early Sunday morning.

Will be staying over in Vancouver for a couple of days to visit my sister. I’ve never been before so pretty excited! Here’s our flight itinerary:

Itinerary

2 thoughts on “The end of third year medical school!

Please share your thoughts! :)

