Random moments since being home!

This post is just as it sounds, enjoy!

There were ripe bananas at home so made some banana chocolate muffins

IMG_0787

How silly is this? Beechwood Cemetery sent this addressed to my dad (who is buried there) inviting him to join for a Memorial Candlelight Service.

IMG_0810

Birthday present from my mom! Belated because she kept it in Ottawa until I got back 🙂 Even matches my birthstone, thanks mommy!

IMG_0813

Shawarma Palace is my absolutely favourite shawarma shop and now they have a fancy new location – thank you Elvin for the treat! 🙂 So nice to catch up with him and Vinh!

IMG_0788

On Nov 27, it snowed. A lot. It’s not even winter yet.

IMG_0818

IMG_5865

This is really yummy if you’ve never had! I don’t think they have this kind of Greek/fruit yoghurt in Brisbane so I will enjoy all I can while I’m here, haha! 😉

IMG_0820

My brother got a bike trainer so he can still ride his bike during the winter 😛

IMG_0824

CINNABON. Best cinnamon bun ever. Always look forward to having this when I’m back in Ottawa, thanks bro for buying me one! 🙂

IMG_5867

Ambitious project going on… I’m trying to digitize all our photos

IMG_0830

Face squishies!

IMG_0833

My brother made kale chips, tasty! But I don’t really think they’re worth the money.

IMG_5872

Delicious green tea chocolate by La Chocolaterie – so creamy and rich in matcha flavour

IMG_5874

IMG_5875

Dinner one night at home: thit kho (braised pork) with bamboo and egg, greens and a mixture of different kinds of rice – very yummy!

IMG_5908

Look how easy it is to do a bowel cancer screening test now, from the comfort of your own home with prepaid postage. Everyone over the age of 50, please get screened at least every 2 years! Very easy to get a kit, just ask your family doctor for one the next time you visit!

IMG_5912

Couldn’t resist trying Domino’s pizza here… nice size, nice crust, BUT WHERE MY CHEESE AT?

IMG_5913

Good crunchy lava cake though!

IMG_5916

Made dumplings… lots and lots of dumplings…

IMG_0836

IMG_0837

Mum brought home some macarons from work, yay! Although they were really lacking in flavour, it was hard to make out what most of the flavours were.

IMG_5918

More to come soon I’m sure! 😉

5 thoughts on “Random moments since being home!

    • Sandra Nguy says:

      This is amazing! You can be sure we’ll be checking it out and sharing our experience when we’re back in Brisbane! The garlic sauce and the pickled turnips are the best parts, yum! 😉 You must go to Shawarma Palace when you’re back in Ottawa… it’s my favourite!

  1. leaners says:

    Oooooh! Ottawa! Shawarma! Cinnabon! I’m so excited for our visit in May 🙂

    Not sure why you’re wasting time with Domino’s, though, when you could be having Willy’s, Bronson, Colonnade, etc etc etc OTTAWA IS FILLED WITH AMAZING PIZZA!!!

    PS – If you’re interested, I can tell you a secret about Brisbane – somewhere you can go to get authentic shawarma!

    Hope you’re having a wonderful time – looks like it!

    • Sandra Nguy says:

      Your comment made my day! 😀

      Haha! I know, I shouldn’t have had Domino’s… I couldn’t resist because that’s what we usually get (so cheap and always have specials) back in Brisbane – I wanted to compare but I’ve learned my lesson!

      And oh my gosh, please share this secret with me, all year long I crave shawarma because I’ve been under the impression that it doesn’t exist!

      I love being home, always busy but definitely worth it 🙂 May will be coming really soon, and the weather will be nice for when you’re here too, yay!

      • leaners says:

        We discovered this shawarma the 3rd year we were in Brisbane and it was so very exciting! It’s in Morningside, a Lebanese eat in/takeaway place called “Baalbak”. They have the delicious garlic sauce (called “toum”) and pickled turnips and I think you have to request them specifically on your ‘kebab. Here’s the link to their web page: http://www.baalbakrestaurant.com.au/ The main guy who worked there was always super friendly as well 🙂

Please share your thoughts! :)

