Christmas Eve Traditions

December 24, 2014

For a few years now, since my dad passed away, our family has spent Christmas Eve with my grandparents. My mom usually has a turkey roasting in the oven during the day, we prepare side dishes, and after evening mass at church, we haul all the food over and enjoy a full turkey dinner at our grandparents’.

And this year was no different!

The turkey and some of the food

IMG_6108

IMG_6111

My mom always makes extra stuffing on the side, with walnuts and cranberries, mmm.

IMG_6114

Buttering up some rolls!

IMG_6120

Perhaps my love for photography takes after my grandpa, who you will find always snapping photos at every opportunity, documenting moments with family to revisit time after time.

IMG_6123

Carving the turkey

IMG_6127

Family pictures!

IMG_6128

IMG_6130

Having a first taste of the lime and banana liqueur my grandpa made. This was a recipe from his sister in Vietnam, where my mom and I had the opportunity to try some last year!

IMG_6132

Beautiful colour and clarity. Great flavour and not too sweet, yum!

IMG_6134

The other tradition we’ve developed is to take family photos on Christmas Eve.

Here are this year’s photos!

My sister with her turtle, Franklin.

IMG_9159

The ‘proper’ photo

IMG_9170

And what usually happens when we take family photos

IMG_9171

Happy New Year… of the Horse!

IMG_9174

Sisters.

IMG_9176

Franklin kept trying to escape from me.

IMG_9179

But would always lie perfectly still for my sister!

IMG_9188

Whether your Christmas Eve was festive or simple and relaxing, I hope you all thoroughly enjoyed it!

Please share your thoughts! :)

