Year 4 Medical School: What’s going on!?

Hello friends!

It seems I’ve gotten into the habit of not regularly blogging – arg! I’ll try really hard to fix that, I promise. 🙂

As some of you may know, I’m now in my 2nd week of 4th (and final) year of medical school! My first rotation is Paediatric Medicine, which I’m absolutely loving. I feel quite lucky that all the doctors and staff we have come across have been kind and more than willing to share their time and teach us. More importantly, parents and their children have been very receptive of students, which makes all the difference in the world, because that’s the only way we learn – on real patients!

Also, babies are so freaking adorable, I can’t get over it. 

With that being said, I’ve also been quite busy and stressed out. 

During the day, I’m in the hospital on my rotation. When I get home, I have to put all my focus into studying for the Medical Council of Canada Evaluating Examination (MCCEE), which Mike and I will be writing on February 28th in Melbourne. That’s less than 6 weeks away! 😦 

The MCCEE is the first big step that we Canadians Studying Abroad (CSA) or International Medical Graduates (IMG) need to take in order to be eligible to apply for a training/residency program in Canada once we graduate. It is a daunting 180 multiple choice question exam that covers 5 broad topics: Child Health, Maternal Health, Adult Health, Mental Health, and Population Health and Ethics. 

Needless to say, we are freaking out. There’s so much to know, in so little time. The most challenging part is studying for Maternal Health when we won’t have actually started, let alone complete, our Obstetrics and Gynaecology rotation yet. 

The good news is, our leave from Feb 26-28 has been approved! That means we will be flying down to Melbourne on the 26th and have 2 dedicated days to study before our exam on the 28th. And then we will have a weekend to explore and see Melbourne, yay! 

Until then, study! 🙂 

4 thoughts on “Year 4 Medical School: What’s going on!?

    • Sandra Nguy says:

      Hi Sarah! Thank you for your encouragement! I ended up pushing the exam back by 2 months because I didn’t feel ready enough to take it. I will do lots of questions though 🙂 Hope you are doing well!

Please share your thoughts! :)

