Chúc Mừng Năm Mới!

Today (Jan 31) is Tet or Vietnamese New Year! (Also known as Lunar New Year or Chinese New Year)

Happy new year everyone! I wish you all health, good fortune, and prosperity!

Last year, Mike and I had went out for a Chinese New Year banquet and then to check out some of the festivities with Christine and Tan. This year, we didn’t really celebrate as we are pretty stressed out with studying for the MCCEE.

But we had to at least go out for food. So a quick Japanese dinner at one of our favourite places, Wagaya in Fortitude Valley.

IMG_6562

IMG_6560

Our favourite dishes:

The chicken karaage bento box for Michael

IMG_6567

IMG_6557

And tonkotsu ramen for me… which was way too much for me, especially as upset tummy recently. But delicious as always!

IMG_6563

IMG_6558

The lion dancing had just started when we were done and heading home so we paused to watch for a few minutes. Didn’t stay for very long but it looked like many people were enjoying the show!

IMG_6570

IMG_6571

IMG_6572

IMG_6573

Look at this cute gift my grandparents gave Michael and I before leaving Canada. Can you guess what was inside? Lucky red envelopes for both of us! Thank you Ong Ba Ngoai, from the both of us!

IMG_6285

IMG_6555

And lucky pockets from my mum before we left as well! I actually forgot she gave us these until she reminded me and had to go find them! 😛

IMG_6575

Thank you also to my Aunt and Uncle 2 for a red pocket before I left, I almost forgot! 🙂

HAPPY NEW YEAR EVERYONE! Have a safe and great time!

Please share your thoughts! :)

