First batch of Year 4 Food

As you may know, I have gotten into the habit of keeping a photo diary of food I’ve been making since coming to Australia from Canada 3 years ago.

Going across the world was my first time moving away from home, and I hardly ever cooked before that because my mom’s food was too fabulous to bother trying. Curse of living at home? 😛

I am proud of myself for continuously trying and improving my skills in the kitchen. I am most certainly not the best at anything, but I am enjoying trying my hand at new things, and most importantly, it brings me happiness that people (especially Michael) enjoy the things I make. Being in the kitchen is my ‘relaxing activity’ believe it or not. And I especially love to cook and bake when I can share.

Annoyingly, I still have family members that ask, “So… how do you feed yourself when you’re living in Australia?” and are so surprised when I reply, “I cook for myself.”

“Really? You can cook?!” Why yes, yes I can. Did you really think I have been eating just take-out and salads for 3 years? Come on!

And the way I see it. Anybody can, they just have to want to try!

You’ll notice there’s no meat in anything below. Mike and I wanted to go meat-free for a few weeks, especially after indulging so much over the holidays.

First ‘hot meal’ after we finally got groceries on arriving back to Brisbane. Breakfast for dinner, a favourite.

IMG_6473

Creamy cauliflower soup, with onions, potato and sweet potato. Definitely a new favourite!

IMG_6478

Trying my hand at gnocchi from scratch for the first time. Sweet potato gnocchi (can you tell I was really lazy with the shaping of it) with a butter garlic rosemary sauce, fennel and apple salad and some grilled haloumi. Quite an odd combination, I know. But hey, it works! We shop the sales and then decide on the menu, not vice versa. Life of a student, you know? 😉

IMG_6482

Ricotta lime cookies with a lime glaze. Made these for “Friday Bake Day” at the hospital, which were enjoyed by many. Will definitely be making these again.

IMG_6485

IMG_6487

Pasta salad with green beans and carmelised onions with a greek yoghurt dressing. Side of cucumber and tomato salad.

IMG_6488

Coconut basil shrimp!

IMG_6489

Peanut butter cookies with caramel chips. Made these for another Friday Bake Day

IMG_6493

Had some basa fillets that I cooked up…

IMG_6552

To make delicious fish cakes for the first time! What an easy method to serve fish in a totally different and flavourful way!

IMG_6553

And 2 dishes that I made when back in Canada

Quiche with mushrooms, onions and bacon. Cheated with store bought crust though! 😉

IMG_1025

Cream of (wild) mushroom soup

IMG_6279

2 thoughts on “First batch of Year 4 Food

  1. rainascarlette says:

    i can tell that those are so delicious!!! xD
    honestly i dunno much in cooking things LOL >.<
    i really love that salad pasta 😛
    keep it up! ^-^

Please share your thoughts! :)

