Paediatric Medicine: End of Rotation 1

Hi friends 🙂

Today marked my last day of Rotation 1 – Paediatric Medicine, which I completed at a large tertiary hospital.

8 weeks on a variety of teams, soaking in as much as possible, in as little time as possible.

  • 2 weeks in General Paediatrics
  • 1.5 weeks in Emergency Department
  • 0.5 weeks in Neonatal Intensive Care Unit (NICU)
  • 1 week in General Surgery
  • 1 week in Gastroenterology
  • 1 week in Oncology
  • 1 week in Respirology

I definitely enjoyed some placements more than others, for a variety of reasons including: personal interest, consultants and senior staff more interested in teaching, and the learning opportunities provided.

For this rotation, we had a number of assessments, including 3 mini clinical examinations (mini-CEX, each worth 10%): neonatal (well-baby check), short case, and long case.

My well-baby check was performed an adorable newly born girl and her lovely parents. She was a little hungry and crying during my examination but was perfectly healthy.

My short case was a respiratory exam on a 1 year old girl who presented with noisy breathing. She was recovering from bronchiolitis and by chance also had a number of neurological findings with associated developmental delays.

And lastly, my long case was a young adolescent girl who presented with fevers on a background of complex mastoiditis leading to the severe complications of intracranial abscesses and venous sinus thrombosis. Incidentally, she had many features consistent with Cushing’s which led to additional discussion points.

The feedback I received from all 3 of my assessments were positive, so hopefully my grades will reflect that!

And today was the big day. A multiple choice exam of 75 questions worth 50% and 2 OSCE stations, each worth 10%.

The written exam was overall fair and very representative of our teachings this rotation.

The clinical exams each had 2 minutes perusal followed by 8 minutes of discussion:

  • Case #1: A 5 week old girl who came in with signs of sepsis.
  • Case #2: A 5 year old girl with acute exacerbation of asthma.

For each case, we had to discuss what additional information we would like on history and examination, what our differential diagnoses were, what investigations we wanted to perform, and how we’d like to manage the patient.

Those 10 minutes go by in the blink of an eye, and I always walk away thinking, “Should’ve said that, could’ve done that, forgot to ask about this, didn’t mention that.”

Only time will tell how I did this rotation! Hopefully hard work paid off.

In the meantime… I would love to catch up on my sleep. However, before I do that, I need to catch up on my blogging! Thanks for reading! 🙂

2 thoughts on “Paediatric Medicine: End of Rotation 1

Please share your thoughts! :)

