My pathetically long blog absence

Dear friends,

Where have I been? Here and there. Doing this, doing that. I’ve been terrible at including you, I know. I’m sorry!

Today has been a very difficult and emotional day for me. Michael, my fiance, is currently flying back to Canada where he will be completing his next two rotations (3rd – Critical Care and 4th – Medical Specialties) while I remain in Brisbane. It will be an exciting and scary journey for him rotating through a number of different hospitals, but I have no doubt he will fit in and excel. Fortunately, I will also have the opportunity to complete Rotation 4 (starting in two months) in Canada. During the last 4 weeks of that rotation, we will be only 1.5 hours drive apart so we’ll finally be able to see each other! I already feel so alone! Never in the years we’ve been together have we been apart or tested by a long distance relationship. I’m sure these next few months will not be easy but thank goodness for texting and video calling. I miss him so much already.

I have a number of topics to catch up and share with you on this blog, including:

  • Some happy moments with friends back in April
  • The MCCEE exam that I finally wrote on May 5th
  • What food have I been making?
  • My Obstetrics & Gynaecology rotation that ended May 9th, including how the final exams went!
  • Our amazing one week vacation in Bali (May 10 to May 17) which was also our first experience with Club Méditerranée, commonly known as Club Med
  • The wedding of our 2 wonderful friends James & Kim on May 17th
  • My upcoming 3rd rotation in Critical Care

In addition, as I have found it very difficult to not only keep up with blogging but also find interesting things to write about during busy and full-on rotations, I have decided to start a new daily blog series project. Starting tomorrow, the first day of my 3rd rotation (Critical Care), I will be doing a Daily Highlights and Lowlights (DHAL) post. This idea was inspired by April & Justin whose daily vlogs I enjoy enjoy watching on YouTube. At the end of each of their videos, they share the highlights of their day. I thought this would be a good way to remember the happy moments, as well as the more difficult ones of each day. Hopefully when I look back at these posts, I will be able to see how I’ve grown from the positive and negative experiences on a daily basis.

Thank you for sticking around with me, I hope you enjoy the blog posts to come!

Please share your thoughts! :)

