DHAL: May 19, 2014

So this will be my first, of hopefully many, Daily Highlights & Lowlights (DHAL) blog posts.

In case you didn’t see in an earlier post, I’ve decided to start this series because I was finding it difficult not only to keep up with blogging but also to find interesting things to write about during busy and full-on rotations. I thought this would be a good way to remember the happy moments, as well as the more difficult ones of each day. Hopefully when I look back at these posts, I will be able to see how I’ve grown from the positive and negative experiences on a daily basis.

Highlights:

  • The excitement of starting a new rotation! I’m currently doing my first of 4 weeks in the Emergency Department (ED) at a big tertiary hospital. The best part is, as opposed to the last hospital I was working at (1.5hrs away each direction), this hospital is only 5-10 minutes away by bus!
  • Meeting new people. Not only did I have a chance to meet some lovely classmates, the doctors and nurses I’ve met in ED were also extremely pleasant. Some are very keen to teach and for that I am very grateful.
  • I did a few cannulations, and I’m happy to say… all of mine were successful on first attempt! I’m always a little nervous (especially in a new environment and on the first day) and never want the patient to have be pricked multiple times, so yay!

  • The patients I met and the things I learned from them:
  1. We had a few patients come in with chest pain, some very typical of cardiac pain but there was a lady with such unspecific pain and symptoms that we had to quickly rule out a life threatening aortic dissection.
  2. Met a man who was also having chest pain and syncope on a background of kidney failure needing dialysis 3 times a week. He had the most amazing arteriovenous (AV) fistula that anyone had ever seen – huge with a proximal pulse and a distal buzz/hum.
  3. There was a trauma alert for a man who fell off his motorbike going 30-40km/hr having to suddenly brake and swerve to avoid a collision. Luckily he was completely fine except for some abrasions and a broken L clavicle.
  4. A man who had a pneumothorax two weeks ago and fed up with his pain and shortness of breath. His CXRs were impressive, with most likely over 80% of his left lung collapsed. He initially wanted to manage it expectantly because he didn’t want an ICC. The doctors used a central venous line through his anterior chest and sucked out over 2L of air with instant relief.
  • Talking to Michael. Although only via text, I was happy he didn’t run into any issues during his flight back to Canada. Poor guy was exhausted but there were no issues with his flights and the additional 4-5 hours of driving went well! He shared some gorgeous views of his drive and look, mountain view just outside the place he’s staying at.

IMG_2870

Lowlights:

  • Getting to orientation at 9am to be told that my first ED shift would be from 1-11pm in the Resuscitation/Trauma area. I was so nervous! An evening shift on my first day where I’ll be working with the sickest people that come through the emergency.
  • The constant feeling of not knowing enough. There is always more to learn and things to review!
  • The feeling of exhaustion when I finally got home around 11:30pm. My legs and feet were incredibly sore from standing the better part of a 10 hour shift. Not to mention it was quite busy so I didn’t even take a break! I also need to make sure I stay hydrated as a headache started creeping on in the last hours of my shift.
  • Coming home to an empty house and not seeing Michael. I’m so used to his company so it is awfully lonely when you don’t have anyone to talk to!
Please share your thoughts! :)

