Sydney: Hyde Park Inn

May 4-5, 2014

In conjunction with my last post, I stayed at Hyde Park Inn during my brief stay in Sydney to write my MCCEE.

I made the booking through Agoda and chose this place for a number of reasons: 

  1. Cheaper than other comparable 4-star hotels in the area, but looked very nice, bright, and clean
  2. Lots of positive reviews
  3. Free wifi in room, which is surprisingly not easy to come by – definitely needed this for my studying.
  4. Extremely close to the train station but more importantly, only a few minutes walk away from my test centre
  5. Continental breakfast included

I landed in Sydney around 10am, so I wasn’t expecting to be able to check in when I arrived at Hyde Park Inn. I was simply expecting to drop off my carry-on luggage and find a nearby cafe to study. It was a pleasant surprise that not only was I told my room was ready for me on early arrival, but that I had been given a complimentary upgrade from a Budget Standard Room to a Standard Studio… how lovely! 

From a “Small Compact Budget Standard Room with frosted windows which allow natural light into the room but with no view. This room offers one Queen Bed, with LCD TV and DVD player.” to a studio featuring “one queen and one single bed, kitchenette facilities with a microwave, en suite bathroom with shower facilities, air-conditioning and a window view overlooking Hyde Park.”

Was this a lucky sign for my exam? 😉

I loved that it was extremely bright and spacious. And so much room, too bad I was by myself! 

IMG_1484

IMG_1491

It doesn’t look like it in this photo, but the bathroom had some of the best lighting I’ve come across in hotels… you know, the kind where you can actually use to apply makeup properly. Toiletries (except shower gel/shampoo) weren’t included but didn’t matter to me as I always bring my own.

IMG_1488

 

Hallway with large closet to the left and bathroom on the right. Iron and board were available in case you needed it.And a cute little kitchenette that contained everything you needed. Even a convection microwave oven.

IMG_1493

When I came into my room, there was already some uncovered sliced bread in the fridge, which made me think to myself, “This better not be the continental breakfast.” Fortunately, I was proven wrong when a staff member came by later to drop off breakfast, which consisted of sliced bread, Weet-Bix, cornflakes, fruit cups, milk, orange juice, butter and condiments for the toast. And because I was the only occupant, I got to eat for 2 or 3, who’s complaining?

IMG_1520

IMG_1523

IMG_1526

The one thing I did not appreciate, which I have seen others complain about in reviews, is the sliced bread. No joke, this was how it was left in the fridge for me. Some was wrapped up, some was not wrapped up at all, and some was very poorly wrapped. What the heck! Who wants dried out AND unsanitary toast? Also, the bread that was already sitting in the fridge? It wasn’t taken away and replaced with this bread… it was left for me. Not cool!

IMG_1522

However, the bread was literally my only complaint of the stay. The staff were extremely pleasant, the beds were super comfortable, everything was clean. Very quiet, which was really important to me in order to study and have a good rest before my exam. Checking out was not an issue and there was no problem with me leaving my luggage until later in the day. 

Would I stay again or recommend to my friends? Most definitely! 

Please share your thoughts! :)

