DHAL: May 21, 2014

A long day at the hospital (8am to 6pm) that luckily didn’t feel quite as long!

Highlights:

  • Finally knowing how to set up and use the neonatal resuscitation trolley properly! Attended daily morning teaching for junior doctors and was happy that I was still on top of neonatal resus principles. And now someone has taken the time to show me how all the equipment works
  • Getting to know a few more junior and senior doctors.
  • Picking up dinner at the hospital Subway on the way home. Haven’t had a sub in a while and no food preparation or cleaning!
  • Finally catching up with the show Once Upon A Time. I highly recommend this show, although it takes a few episodes to get into it. The sets and costumes are great. I think the most impressive aspect of this show is not only how they are able to blend reality with the fairy tale world so seamlessly but how the writers have been able to integrate all the fairy tale characters we’ve ever known into one world… Relating each character to another in such a creative way that keeps us on our toes.

Lowlights:

Being ‘gently’ reprimanded by my senior doctor. I was with her while she was removing 3 week old stubborn sutures (done by another Dr elsewhere and was now causing infection) from a patient’s neck. While she was tugging on a loose one trying to find its other end, I commented, “It’s not intuitive, the placement of the suture when you tug on it.” Although she completely understood the meaning behind my comment, she took me aside later to remind me that I should never make any comments that patients can take wrongly and in a negative way. While I completely agree, I guess I was just frustrated with myself for having someone senior, whom I’m trying to make a good impression on, remind me. She was lovely though!

Please share your thoughts! :)

