Sydney: The Dough Collective

May 04, 2014

I came upon The Dough Collective on George St. by chance while taking a walk and looking for some food/snacks during my short stay in Sydney. I remember checking into my hotel and immediately thinking, “I need to find something delicious to keep me going if I plan to be studying for the rest of the day.”

And if you know me, you know I absolutely love bakeries. Delicious breads and pastries, does anyone not like that?

IMG_1500

A small shop with assorted breads on display typical of a self-serve bakery. I also liked the look of the bread behind glass displays within the walls, added a nice elegant touch. Wish I had taken some photos of the shop but I was trying to get in and out as quick as I could. Also, lots of different samples to try, taste to your heart’s content!

IMG_1498

As I was traveling solo so I couldn’t buy too much… even though I wanted to!

Ended up getting a Chocolate Surprise – filled with Belgian chocolate and a Brown Sugar Roll with brown sugar, walnuts and raisins.

IMG_1502

Both were delicious! Such fresh, soft, delicious, chewy bread. I am not a fan of raisins, but these ones were so big, plump, and juicy I thought it went really nicely with the walnuts in the roll.

And I also got the Gangnam Crown, I believe. Five individual buns with kimchi, cream cheese, and condensed milk. The combination of flavours may sound odd, but I assure you this was delicious. Spicy, creamy, salty and sweet – mmm!

IMG_1504

I know, I should’ve also taken photos of what the inside looked like to show you!

I still think of the awesome textures and tastes of the breads I tried, and prices were very reasonable as well! I really wish there was a Dough Collective here in Brisbane… maybe one day soon? Will definitely visit again when I have the chance though!

The Dough Collective on Urbanspoon

Please share your thoughts! :)

