DHAL: May 22, 2014

Highlights:

  • Seeing patients with such a variety of presentations: atypical chest pain, infective exacerbation of asthma in an 81, acute shortness of breath in an otherwise quite healthy 93yo man, superficial venous thrombosis, domestic violence, etc
  • Running into my supervisor from my Medicine Rotation last year. To this day I still remember rounding with him and the team when he suddenly stops in the hallway, points to an orchid and asks, “What flower is this?” When I answered, he questioned me back with, “How can you tell? How do you know for sure?” Completely stumped, he finally satisfied our curiosity with, “Because it’s the only flower with one plane of symmetry” and continued on down the hallway. Such a lovely old gentleman who is a great teacher and well respected by students and colleagues alike.
  • Being told to go home early! So nice, even if it was only 40 minutes early. And I even got a lunch break today! The blessings… haha
  • A glorious nap after dinner

Lowlights:

  • Just after piercing the skin and successfully getting flashback on my cannula insertion for a patient, it fell out! I don’t even know how it happened, but I hate having to prick someone more than once. It was even worse because the first one was successful and I most likely left the poor man with a bruise. The patient didn’t complain and it wasn’t painful, just completely unnecessary, bleh!
  • Knowing I had more highlights to share but now they’ve escaped me. I need to start taking notes throughout the day so I don’t forget!
Please share your thoughts! :)

