DHAL: May 26, 2014

Highlights:

  • Booked my (why so expensive) flight home! I will be arriving in Ottawa on July 12 at 6:55pm on flight United 3829 from Chicago! I will have a week in Ottawa before flying out to Nanaimo, BC for my first elective in Geriatric Medicine.
  • Completed most of my learning modules for this Critical Care rotation. Still a lot more studying to get done!

Lowlights:

  • Still not done my internship application. Although I have until June 6, I really need to bang out some really well written personal statements. Not only is there the worry of not getting a job next year due to lack of positions and being lower on the priority list because we are international students, it is also likely that Michael and I will not be able to get a job in the same town 😦 Thinking of the distance saddens me.
  • Paying this (8 weeks long) rotation’s tuition of $10,560. My approximate $500 000 debt by the time I’m done medical school is quite nerve wracking. Not to mention with Michael, we will have a combined debt of $1million or more! Is there anybody wealthy reading this blog who would be interested in financially supporting 2 hard working, soon-to-be junior doctors with a massive debt and a wish to get married and start a family?
Please share your thoughts! :)

