DHAL: June 27 – July 01, 2014

A few moments of my previous few days…

Highlights:

On Friday, June 27, Mabel came over to review some Obstetrics and Gynaecology cases. Good to go over things and happy that information is still fresh on my mind. Caught up over homemade dinner including cauliflower soup and banana chocolate chip bread! It’s nice to have people to cook for, otherwise I don’t feel the motivation to make food!

On Saturday, June 28, I finally met my cousin and his wife in Brisbane! He moved to Brisbane from Vietnam over a year ago but initially I didn’t know he was in Brisbane and then life got in the way. Fortunately, although I absolutely abhor his father for despicable things he did and said when my dad was sick, my cousin is a kind person and his wife is quite friendly and easy to get along with. I met them in Inala (home of Viet-town) where they spoiled me with a yummy dinner at Que Huong Restaurant in Darra. Food dishes included fried soft shell crab, abalone and steamed chicken with greens. I was glad to finally catch up with him and meet his wife! They took me by their place so I could see their home and was kind enough to drive me all the way home. I’ve invited them over for dinner this coming weekend, so looking forward to that.

Then the next day, Yoni and I went on an awesome food adventure. We decided on a budget of $40 each and I chose a few highly rated but cheap eateries in the Fortitude Valley area. We met up at 1pm, started with BBQ pork and duck at Golden Barbeque. On the way to the next restaurant, Jamroc – Jamaican Jerk Chicken, we made a pit stop at 711 for Krispy Kreme donuts. Stuffed after jerk chicken, we headed into the city so I could run a few errands. Deciding to talk a walk in the Botanic Gardens, our plans were pleasantly foiled when we found out the cinema in the city was still showing Edge of Tomorrow and we could get student priced tickets at $6.50. After an enjoyable movie and some time to digest, we picked up some bubbletea from Hazel Tea Shop and headed to Maru, our last stop for Korean dinner. A very fulfilling, weight gaining, 6 hours of eating and eating. I’ll definitely be writing some reviews for the places we visited – let’s do this again soon Yoni! 🙂

This week in Anaesthesia, I’m rostered for PM/evening shifts in the Emergency theatre. Things have been good, I get a nice long break in between afternoon and night surgeries to have dinner. I’m actually writing this blog post on my phone during said break 🙂 I have had the same senior registrar the past two days who’s been very kind, encouraging and keen to teach. He reminds me very much of the first intern I ever worked with back in the beginning of 3rd year. The kind of person I hope to be towards my juniors in the future.

I have caught up with one of my favourite shows – Supernatural. Glad to hear that the show has been renewed for a 10th season because I can’t wait to see what happens!

I believe I have finally finished all my shopping to begin my packing to go home. You’ll see what I mean in a few weeks!

Lowlights:

Being alone! Canada Day was utterly boring as it isn’t a holiday here and I spent it all day in theatre!

Wished time went by quicker when you want it to! As much as I’ve enjoyed this rotation, I can’t wait to finish and be on a plane home!

Please share your thoughts! :)

