DHAL: July 13-19, 2014 – Ottawa for a week!

One week home in Ottawa, been looking forward to this for weeks! 🙂

Michael and I aren’t planning on going home for over summer/Christmas holidays, since our graduation date isn’t until December 20th and we expect to be moving and preparing for a job rural at the end of the year, hopefully! This rotation is our opportunity to spend some time in Canada… so who knows when we will be back next!

Spent some quality time with the family!

Got to eat one of my favourite Vietnamese meals – Bo Bia! Fresh rolls with Chinese sausage, sauteed turnip, egg and veggies including Thai basil dipped in a hoison peanut sauce – thanks mum!

IMG_8720

IMG_8718

A meal selfie!

IMG_1211

My mom’s famous deboned, stuffed, and breaded chicken wings! Delicious! And some homemade samosas

IMG_1209

And with my grandparents!

IMG_1214

Trying out my grandpa’s first batch of banana lime liqueur – coming along well!

IMG_1216

We enjoyed quite a few different taste testings, haha!

IMG_1212

I finally got to meet Benny! The dog my brother adopted earlier this year who is now considered the baby of the house and my mum’s favourite. He’s a cutie and (mostly) really well behaved but always gets a little too excited when new people come over that he pees on them.

IMG_1219

He’s a sweetheart and a whiner, always crying and looking out the window if you leave him behind.

IMG_1868

And he loves his balls and squeaky toys…

IMG_7477

IMG_1867

Had the opportunity to go down to Perth Road Village to spend some quality time with Mike’s family on July 14th. Their property is by a lake and very cottage-like, so it was very nice and relaxing! Mike’s brother Matt and sister in law Jessica recently had their 2nd child – Rinoa, who’s super cute! Their oldest, Jasper has grown so much since I last saw him!

Some of my favourite photos, you can view all of them HERE.

Matt, Jessica and Jasper out on a canoe ride

IMG_0566

Matt & Jess’ dog Bubba – not feeling well today.

IMG_0616

Father son laughs

IMG_0758

Auntie and niece bonding time.

IMG_0738

Little Rinoa

IMG_0750

Tummy tickles!

IMG_0788

Like father like son

IMG_0801

Hanging out with Uncle Mike

IMG_0812

Indeed!

IMG_0814

A pair of loons and a baby! We tried to get as close as we could without being intrusive and they certainly kept an eye on us the whole time just in case!

IMG_0696

This dinosaur

IMG_0733

Got to satisfy a few of my cravings! Including McDonald’s McGriddle breakfast (mmm sweet and salty, maple syrup and sausage) and of course, Shawarma Palace with their awesome garlic sauce! Not shown: Stops at Tim Horton’s!

IMG_1870

IMG_1884

Even had time to catch up with some of my best girls! Thanks for coming over on July 17th Atong, Julia and Hue!

IMG_7478

Julia loved Benny!

IMG_7475

Julia requested Cuttlefish snacks by Nong Shim, which apparently can’t be found in Ottawa anymore. They are delicious though, even Mike’s hooked on them.

IMG_7480

A lovely engagement gift from Julia & Atong 🙂 A family cookbook that even has room for photos!

IMG_7484

IMG_7485

IMG_7488

And perhaps most importantly, my mum held an unofficial engagement dinner with Michael’s parents so they could formally meet all of my family. This was on Friday, July 18th, the night before both Michael and I flew out to our respective electives. We decided to have dinner at Chu Shing and luckily, only a handful of family were missing. It was the usual family deal, chaotic but I think it went well! Thank you also very much to my grandparents and to Ong Tia Ba Y for their generous gifts!

Some of the photos!

Selfie at the dinner table

IMG_8878

With Mike’s parents, my mum, my grandparents, and my dad’s aunt and uncle.

IMG_0409

The elders!

IMG_0423

All my aunts and uncles (except for my 4th aunt who was in LA with her daughter Lilian) and a few of the cousins

IMG_0434

Some more cousins as well as Aunt Diane, Uncle Andrew (my great aunt and uncle’s daughter) and their 3 children.

IMG_0439

Group photo!

IMG_0451

With my dad’s side of the family

IMG_0466

Aren’t I lovely?

IMG_0473

With Michael’s family. Unfortunately, his sister Meaghan was not able to join us due to work. His brother has 2 small children on an early schedule and it’s a drive up from Kingston!

IMG_0479

Before heading home, we dropped by Phuket Royal, a restaurant where my cousin Kevin was working (couldn’t make it to our dinner) to say hi. He was just getting off work so we decided to go to My Sweet Tea to catch up over bubble tea. We didn’t get back until past midnight, and Mike and I still needed to pack! Needless to say, it was a late night.

Woke up at 4:30am the next morning to have breakfast together at Perkins with Di Nam before heading to the airport for my 7am flight to Vancouver. Good bye family and see you again soon!

10556283_665121586902952_3707636421064270964_n

They’ve changed the format of the security line at the Ottawa Airport to be extremely inefficient, causing myself and a number of other passengers to almost miss our flight. At other airports, once passengers go through security, they may be pulled aside to a different station for an explosives scan, which is when they swab the outside and also open your bags to swab the inside and test for explosives. For whatever reason, Ottawa has decided to incorporate the explosives scan as part of their security line, before your bags go through the scanner. The ENTIRE security line gets held up when someone’s having their bag tested. Meaning nobody’s bags are being scanned and nobody is walking through the metal detectors. Completely inefficient, I don’t know what they were thinking, but they better change that.

My sister met me once I landed in Vancouver and we had time to grab a quick bite to eat before I had to start heading to Horseshoe Bay to catch my ferry to Nanaimo. It took a good 2 hours to get there from the airport via the SkyTrain into the city and then bus to the ferry terminal. More about Nanaimo in my next post!

Please share your thoughts! :)

