DHAL: July 19-25, 2014 – Week 1 in Nanaimo

July 19. After saying farewell to my sister in downtown Vancouver, I hopped on the bus to head to Horseshoe Bay Ferry Terminal. The bus ride took less than an hour and a one way ferry ticket to Nanaimo cost $16.25.

Beautiful views from the ferry terminal!

IMG_7491

IMG_7494

I was on the Coastal Renaissance… never have I been on such a humongous ferry! I admit, I did get lost but I was impressed. Ended up making it to the top deck and… fell asleep for most of the ride over to Nanaimo 😛 I was exhausted with only 3 hours of sleep, I tried!

IMG_7495

IMG_7499

Once we arrived in Nanaimo and with my luggage, I decided to grab a taxi instead of the bus. I don’t think I mentioned this in a previous post, but the hospital I’m doing my elective at has a 3 bedroom house that they rent out to medical elective students for FREE. I felt quite lucky to be able to save some money! I was dropped off at the hospital to pick up my house keys and then walked approximately 700m to my accommodation.

The house is spacious, with everything provided, including linen and household products. Even has a desktop computer and printer for tenants to use.

IMG_7512

 

There is a housekeeper who comes by every Tuesday to clean the house as well.

IMG_7516

IMG_7520

IMG_7503

I had a moderate sized room with a desk and closet, didn’t take long to settle in! There’s also a lock on every bedroom door, allowing more security when you’re in and out of the house.

IMG_7509

Pretty great internet provided!

Untitled

I ordered some groceries online the day I arrived and was too lazy to go exploring so I even ordered some Chinese take out for dinner. Lowlight: It was THE WORST food I’ve ever eaten, I don’t even want to explain it. Those in Nanaimo, never order from Sun’s Noodle Bar. Needless to say, not much got eaten and a lot was thrown out.

I spent Sunday at home, reading and relaxing. There wasn’t much to do around my neighbourhood and I didn’t care to go into the city. Sunday night my housemate came home, a really sweet medical student from Ireland doing an elective in Paediatrics.

Otherwise, I was just nervous for the start of my elective! Was hoping for a nice preceptor! Have never worked in the Canadian medical system before so didn’t know what was expected of me yet. Monday came quickly. I started my week with some PowerChart training – the online medical record system they use here. I then met the course coordinator and eventually my preceptor. I was expecting to be a part of a hospital team for my geriatrics elective. Turns out my preceptor is a one man team!

He’s great though. Extremely patient and never discouraging towards me. He lets me do as much as I want within my limits of comfort and learn what I want to learn. Always takes his time to answer my questions and teaches whenever the opportunity arises.

As you can imagine, elderly patients most often have a plethora of issues that landed them in hospital. These can include: dementia, delirium, instability, falls, cardiac disease, stroke, incontinence, infection, etc. I love geriatric medicine because it is so general that you always see a variety of presentations. History taking needs to be thorough and examinations need to be all encompassing in order to not miss anything in an elderly patient, especially when there can be so many causes to their issues.

On Mondays, Tuesdays, and Thursdays, we are in the hospital in the morning and at his clinic (about 5min drive away) in the afternoon. We spend Wednesdays and Fridays in hospital.

My first week passed very quickly. My days start later than I’m accustomed to. My preceptor often tries to make it in by 9am but he has 3 young children to take care of and drop off at different activities in the morning, so we often don’t meet up until 10am. I get to start my day at a good pace and have time to review patients before he gets in. The days pass quickly because we are so busy, I often don’t get home until 7pm and we normally don’t have time to take a proper lunch. Usually we work until we need to rush to clinic and eat our lunch during the 5 minute drive there. A one man team is busy busy!

So far so good though, I’m quite enjoying my time working! Don’t know if I’ll see much of Vancouver Island while I’m here, we’ll see!

My sister is coming for my first weekend here, to celebrate my birthday early with me, which makes it less lonely!

Please share your thoughts! :)

