My Cardiology Elective experience in Halifax, NS

August 18 to September 12, 2014

After my Geriatric Medicine experience in Nanaimo, BC, I continued my medical elective adventure with 4 weeks of Cardiology in Halifax, Nova Scotia.

I will be forever grateful to Matt (Mike’s best friend) and his wife Laura for allowing me to stay with them and their daughter Isabelle during my 4 weeks in Halifax – thank you so much again guys!

I chose to do Cardiology because I wanted to become more confident as it has never been my forte and is so important within any medical specialty. I was lucky to be allocated to the Inpatient Cardiology Consult Service for my elective, which is a team who oversees all cardiology referrals for inpatients at the QEII and a number of other sites including Victoria General, Rehab, Veteran’s Memorial, and Abbie J Lane. It was a great opportunity to see lots of patient presentations, visit different hospital sites, and interact with numerous staff.

The consult service team consisted of a staff member (cardiology consultant) who rotated every 2 weeks and a resident (registrar). As you can imagine, it’s a pretty small team to take care of all inpatient cardiology referrals across numerous sites. There were some rare slow days, but most were extremely busy with continuous consults and follow ups.

I thoroughly enjoyed my experience on consult service! My responsibilities included: seeing new consults (full history and exam) and presenting them to the team including an impression and appropriate plans, communicating with treating teams and multidisciplinary team members, administrative work (writing notes, filling forms and orders), following up with investigations and plans, etc.

I had the opportunity to work alongside the same resident (4th yr anaesthesia) during the entirety of my 4 weeks, which was great. He was smart, friendly, and always willing to teach and provide guidance. I don’t think I would’ve enjoyed the experience nearly as much if not for him. I also had the chance to meet and work with 3 wonderful cardiology consultants – each with their own style and method of teaching and all of whom provided really positive feedback on my performance. They also offered to help me out in any way I needed (including being a reference), without me asking, thank you so much! 🙂 I worked as hard as I could, which was appreciated and validated, yay! Not to mention all the wonderful patients and other staff members I met and learned from throughout the 4 weeks. Heart failure, arrhythmias, myocardial infarctions, endocarditis, pericardial effusion/tamponade, etc.

Thank you to all the people I met and worked with, who were so patient with me and taught me so much! I hope to have the opportunity to see and work alongside you again. 🙂

Please share your thoughts! :)

