2 weeks on ENT

Sept 22 – Oct 3, 2014

My two weeks with the Ears, Nose & Throat (ENT) team flew by very quickly. As part of my Surgical Specialties rotation, I chose to do my 2 weeks surgical elective in ENT for more exposure to a field that comprises a significant proportion of GP consults – particularly because I am interested in General Practice.

It wasn’t, however, exactly the experience I had anticipated. Fully expecting to see a lot of ‘bread and butter’ stuff (ear infections, sinus infections, etc), I had forgotten that as a tertiary hospital, we also saw all the rare and serious presentations. During the two weeks, I was lucky to have had the opportunity to meet and learn from many patients. From being on ward rounds, participating in clinics and attending theatre, I saw simple conditions from sinusitis, Meniere’s disease and ear infections to inverted papillomas, cholesteatomas, and serious cancers of different types and stages.

I worked alongside a great team who were keen to have students and willing to teach – so I learned a lot, and quickly! In addition, our team made it clear that they remembered what it was like to be a student. They were happy for us come and go as we please, to use our time as we saw fit. Thanks ENT team!

Please share your thoughts! :)

