Last 4 weeks of medical school – Orthopaedic Surgery

October 20 – November 13, 2014

Ending medical school with a specialty I had been dreading… Orthopaedic surgery. Crazy hours, macho surgeons, and an intense knowledge of anatomy required were only some of the things I had been warned about.

Needless to say, I found none of the above true and in fact, extremely enjoyed my ortho term. There were 5 other students in my group and we were based at a smaller hospital especially known for elective hip and knee replacements. We were split into smaller groups of 1-2 students and assigned to an ortho surgery team. There were 3 doctors on my team, a consultant, a senior registrar and an intern – and I was very appreciative of each person, in particular, our consultant.

He started every face to face encounter throughout the day (even after coming back from lunch) with a smile on his face and the words, “So, did you do any reading? What did you learn? Why don’t you tell me all about it?” In response to our answers, he would ask us questions and provide us with more teaching. He was always kind and non judgmental, even if you didn’t know the easiest answers. His continuous interest and support in our learning was the push students (like myself) sometimes needed to really become interested in what we learning. Although the registrar had a different style of teaching, he was the same. There was never any time we spent with our team, whether that be in clinic, in theatre, or even on coffee break, that we didn’t gain more knowledge.

Even though I am not interested in pursuing surgery, for the first time in a long time, I felt useful and wanted in theatre. The team would encourage us to come to theatre and rather than leave us to watch silently and awkwardly in a corner (the bane of medical students’ existence sometimes), we were always asked to scrub in and assist. Even if we weren’t assisting, the team would continuously ask questions and teach during the surgeries, which was great.

I really thought Orthopaedic surgery would be my least favourite rotation, especially with less interest in surgery and my subpar anatomy – but I have to say, these last 4 weeks of medical school have only bettered the two. I’m looking forward to my surgical terms next year when I’m finally working and I have to say my anatomy is heaps better now!

My last rotation ended with 2 MCQ exams on Nov 13 (a day earlier due to the G20 public holiday) – one 50 question ophthalmology exam and another 50 question Orthopaedic exam. Despite walking out of the exam with the trembling thought of, “Oh my god, that was so much harder than I anticipated,” I’m happy to say that our results have seen been released and I got an excellent mark – so stoked!

We didn’t have time to lament awaiting our surg exam results though, as we had OSCEs to study for, which I will talk about in my next post 🙂

Please share your thoughts! :)

