MBBS Graduation – we’re doctors!

December 20, 2014

After a long journey, MIchael and I officially became doctors – yay!

Our graduation ceremony took place at the University of Queensland campus and attended by Michael’s parents, my mom, Ong Ba Ba, and Di Loan.

Grad001

Micheal receiving his “diploma” and being congratulated by the Chancellor. You actually receive an empty cylinder on stage and receive a packet of documents, including your diploma/testamur once you leave stage ๐Ÿ™‚

Grad002

My turn ๐Ÿ™‚ I didn’t faceplant on stage, success!

Grad003

As with every university graduation ceremony I’ve attended, the graduates are asked to turn around, face the audience, and give our family and friends a standing ovation. To thank them for their never ending love and support, for helping us achieve our dreams, and celebrating with us. This is a moment of happiness for many students, but a bittersweet moment for me. Happy to have succeeded but with tears stinging my eyes, remembering my father who’s no longer on this earth to see his daughter graduate. I know he would’ve been extremely happy and proud ๐Ÿ™‚

My Ong Ba was quite exhausted after the long ceremony

Grad004

With a class of over 400 people, you can imagine how crowded the campus was!

Grad006

Grad007

Family photo!

Grad009

My biggest support

Grad010

My other half, my meant to be!

Grad011

We decided not to hang around for long as it was quite crowded and hot, plus everyone was tired, but we were able to grab a few photos with our friends on the way out!

With the lovely Sarah ๐Ÿ™‚

10872762_1023425381007226_4490177559998557028_o

Josiah and his family are amazing people – so warm and gracious – will never forget their hospitality!

Grad014

Will be working with Chuan in Rockhampton in 2015! Woo hoo for getting jobs!

Grad013

Can’t forget these 2, Fiona & Smiley, PBL 25 represent from Day 1. Missing Christine (elsewhere), James (on his honeymoon) and Kristen (with her baby girl)!

Grad016

And of course, Tom!

Grad017

While getting our diplomas framed, we ran into Lauren!

Grad018

Woo, we did it!

Grad019

Part of the reason why we were eager to leave was because we had already made plans. My Ong Ba Ut couldn’t attend our graduation (not enough tickets) so we had decidedย to come back the following day (Sunday) to take some family photos together. We would dress up again and come back to campus to take photos at our own leisure. It would work out perfectly because our graduation was the last ceremony of the year so campus would be completely empty.

So with that plan in mind, we went back to my family’s apartment to celebrate!

Grad020

Grad022

Grad023

Lots of toasts!

Grad026

Lots of “1-2-3-Voooooo!” (1-2-3 cheers!)

Grad028

Grad029

Michael and I had wanted to take our families out to dinner to thank them. But everyone was tired and we decided to get McDonald’s takeaway instead. With wine. Ended the day super classy!

Thank you again to all my family and friends for your love and support! Couldn’t have made it to today withoutย all of you!

One thought on “MBBS Graduation – we’re doctors!

  1. Simon says:

    Sandra!

    Every now and then I check out this site! It’s hidden deep within my bookmark folders! You have such an incredible life!

    I think I am 7 months late since this post, but congratulations! What a long journey! Success!

    I’m happy to see you are doing well, have a good day!

Please share your thoughts! :)

