Merry Christmas!

December 25, 2014

I’m chuckling because I’m writing about our Christmas in April – better late than never?

My mom and I decided to stay home and relax on Christmas, but Michael and his parents braved the hoards to experience Christmas on the beach 😛 Weather was good and they had a fun time!

Brisbane191

How many Canadians can say they spent Christmas in this kind of weather?

Brisbane192

I was adamant I would be cooking Christmas dinner – letting my mom relax. Unfortunately, it was one of my biggest cooking fails – a raw meat loaf – so upsetting! The other dishes were good, including corn, potato wedges, prawn toast and salad.

Brisbane195

Our first Christmas tree in Australia

Brisbane194

Beautiful, love our colour scheme!

Brisbane202

Family photo!

Brisbane193

In previous years, our cousins have always had a bit of fun at family get togethers, like colour coordinating our outfits, wearing ugly Christmas sweaters, custom made t-shirts, etc. Imagine my delight when Mike’s mom produced these funky Dollarama light necklaces – complete with 3 different modes and extra batteries!

Brisbane198

Had a glitch with one of them – ah, expected of Dollarama!

Brisbane199

Blueberry pie for dessert, thanks Caroline!

Brisbane201

Some more family photos before opening presents

Brisbane206

Brisbane208

Brisbane209

Brisbane210

I look sort of like a monster here

Brisbane212

My love!

Brisbane213

Brisbane214

Let me share some of the wonderful presents I received 🙂

Gorgeous ruby (my birthstone) and diamond earrings from Michael that nicely match a necklace he gave for Christmas in 2011

IMG_9826

IMG_9828

A beautiful Ivanka Trump dress from my mom. I’ve received many compliments wearing it already!

IMG_9838

A nice leather Coach clutch from my sister and some delicious chocolate bars! Can’t find those in Australia!

IMG_9835

IMG_9824

Presents from my brother…

A wine making kit. I haven’t used it yet, will have to soon!

IMG_9829

And an electronic measuring cup and ceramic knives – now staples in my kitchen 🙂

IMG_9841

From Michael’s parents, goodies from Canada!

IMG_9844

And a few items from his mom! The candle holders fit nicely in our new home in Rockhampton!

IMG_9848

Michael was very happy with my Christmas present to him – adding to his collection 😉

IMG_9831

It’s long passed, but I hope everyone had a wonderful Christmas holiday with your loved ones!

Please share your thoughts! :)

