Oh, the Irony

When I first started working as a doctor in January of this year, I prepared myself mentally, emotionally and physically to be yelled at, and berated by my senior colleagues.

Haha, I know, that sounds horrible! Of course, I didn’t expect it to happen all the time, but after hearing some nasty horror stories, I would rather anticipate it than be taken by surprise. With that being said, I’m happy to say I’m approaching the end of my 8th month of employment and that still has not happened.

However, I have been yelled at. It was loud, terrifying, awkward, and made me feel like I had done something terribly wrong.

It happened during my first weekend shift at the beginning of the year. I was on Medicine, working ward call. I had just finished ward rounds with the consultant and met up with my colleague to see what other jobs needed to be completed. She asked if I could check in on a patient that she was just notified had gone into complete heart block. A precarious situation, I immediately went to see the patient. On the way, I was stopped by the nurse and given his latest ECG – he was back in 2nd degree heart block, no longer complete heart block.

The curtains around the patient’s bed were drawn and there were visitors behind the curtain. I could hear talking but could not make out what was being said. The health of the patient above all else, I excused myself and entered behind the curtain. I said hello, introduced myself to the patient and his 3 visitors, including his wife. I explained we had received a call from cardiology that his heart had gone into an abnormal rhythm and wanted to make sure that he wasn’t experiencing any symptoms of shortness of breath or chest pain. After a brief talk and examination, I was happy that the patient was clinically stable and apologised for the interruption. I told the patient that I would now go familiarise myself with his chart and have a chat with the senior and let him know if there was anything else that needed to be done. The patient and his wife said thank you and I excused myself.

As I reached the hallway, I heard a very angry, “Excuse me!” I turned around to have one of the patient’s visitors towering over me, 15cm from my face, who proceeded to yell at me at the top of his lungs, “Do you know how rude it is to interrupt a minister in the middle of praying?! How dare you! You should be ashamed of yourself!” Before I could apologise (again) for interrupting and explain that it was necessary for the safety of the patient, he stalked off.

I was shaking. Not because I was hurt, but because I was furious. How is it possible that an adult cannot treat another adult with respect and communicate more calmly?

Being yelled at, for the first time in my (short) career, by a Christian minister – OH THE IRONY. He who should practice what he preaches.

A few minutes later, I returned to see the patient, his family, and more importantly, the minister. Despite the fact that I stood by my actions, I wanted to apologise again if they felt I was rude. The minister was not there and the patient and his wife looked mortified. Both she and her husband apologised profusely for the minister’s behaviour. They said it was appalling and that they were so embarrassed. They agreed with my actions and thanked me for putting the patient first. I thanked them for their understanding.

And that, is the story of my first experience being yelled at as a doctor.

Please share your thoughts! :)

