Bachelorette

May 07, 2016

To be honest, I didn’t think I would have a bachelorette (hen’s day/night). After all, we didn’t have an engagement party or a bridal shower. Not to mention I wasn’t even in the country until 2 weeks prior to the wedding! However, my amazing sister (maid of honour) and bridesmaids made sure to give me an incredibly special day.

I was told in advance that Saturday, May 7th would be my bachelorette and that it would take place over the whole day – how exciting! I had been previously asked what I would want for a bachelorette. My reply was high tea and a good meal. Definitely no need for clubbing/strippers please!

With that, my sister planned everything and presented me with this list of instructions:

IMG_8022

She even found a gorgeous white dress for me as I couldn’t find one in time!

Started the day with a gift from my sister – thank you so much!

IMG_8028

A bridal Pandora bead with bride on one side and groom on the other.

IMG_8031

IMG_8033

Janet, my cousin and bridesmaid, picked us up and the adventure commenced!

First off, a beautiful high tea with my gorgeous bridesmaids at Nectar Fine Teas.

A menu consisting of fruit, soup, sandwiches, scones, desserts and chocolate. And pots of tea of course!

IMG_8035

In love with the china!

IMG_8040

IMG_8050

As usual, lots of silliness and laughs with these girls!

IMG_8036

IMG_8049

Fruit cup with jasmine tea syrup – so refreshing and not too sweet!

IMG_8044

Hearty legume soup sipper

IMG_8045

My beautiful bridesmaids!

IMG_8056

IMG_8318

IMG_8060

IMG_8053

Check out the food – mmm! We had wasabi egg salad, smoked salmon & chevre, lemon chicken & mango chutney, and red pepper cream cheese & cucumber mini sandwiches. Also vanilla bean and cranberry-orange scones with preserves and clotted cream. Up top were dessert slices and an assortment of truffles. All the food was fantastic!

IMG_8064

IMG_8326

Took a look around their shop after high tea. Nectar Fine Teas lives up to its name – such an amazing selection of teas and all the accessories you might need!

IMG_8067

IMG_8066

IMG_8074

After high tea, we got back into the car and started driving… Eventually we reached Quebec and at one point I was sure they were taking me to Omega Park (which I love!) which was when they made me shut my eyes and keep it a surprise.

The first place they stopped at advised that there would be a wait of a few hours… so we bailed (I still had no idea what was going on). We then we pulled over to a candle making shop – I was so excited! Only to be told it was actually a joke and we got back on the road. I was a bit disappointed to be honest. We finally arrived at a backup location. Still keeping my eyes shut, the girls guided me to the entrance.

IMG_8328

We were at Amerispa! For the rest of the afternoon we enjoyed pools, spas, saunas, silence, relaxation, laughs, and good conversation. Sorry, no photos!

IMG_8085

IMG_8087

Afterwards, we all freshened up and changed into our outfits for the evening. Colour coordination was involved – me in white and everyone else in black!

IMG_8169

IMG_8165

IMG_8161

Julia always comes prepared… even with theme appropriate snacks!

IMG_8090

What a surprise! So many lovely ladies joined us for dinner! My friends as well as all my female cousins – thank you so much guys!

Atong, Julia, Tina (who I later found out was pregnant, yay!) and Jenn

IMG_8092

My now very grown up cousins – Lilian, Flora, Christine and Kim

IMG_8097

My cousin Janet and sister Jenni

IMG_8100

Had such a fantastic time catching up with everyone and I think we all enjoyed the delicious (and pretty reasonable priced) food at Fauna Food + Bar

IMG_8312

Have a look at some of the tasty dishes we enjoyed!

IMG_8102

Duck with kimchi fried rice

IMG_8103

Rabbit with squid ink pasta

IMG_8106

IMG_8305

My sister, who is amazing, even went as far as getting us a beautiful congratulatory cake!

IMG_8108

Many of those sitting around us offered cheers of congratulations and lots of smiles – this girl really felt the love!

IMG_8304

The restaurant were happy to plate out our cake for an additional $3.50 a person. For the beautiful plating with icecream, cookie, and fruit caviar garnish, we all agreed it was definitely worth it!

IMG_8300

I even got presents! Thank you so much cousins for the lovely candle and selection of teas!

IMG_8171

IMG_8130

IMG_8128

IMG_8125

IMG_8121

IMG_8112

A heartfelt thank you to all you gorgeous ladies for making me feel so special and loved to soon before my big day! Love you all!

Exactly one week until the wedding!

